This review was submitted 4 months ago.

On March 10, 2024 a Postcrosser from Germany sent me the postcard Drawing of bicycle with basket on front with flowers. Postcard logo states “oh happy day”.

Drawing of bicycle with basket on front with flowers. Postcard logo states “oh happy day” arrived after 13 days of travel covering a distance of 4,750 miles / 7,644 kilometers. Don’t worry, be happy!

Postcard Front


 

Postcard Stamp(s)


 

What I’ve Learned

Another reminder to be HAPPY from a fellow Postcrosser, Hannah, from Bad Bentheim, Germany.

The postcard itself, is presented in the most simple form, a postcard with a white background and a free form drawing, in black ink, of a bicycle with a basket on the front holding flowers. The logo, “oh happy day” reminds one to be happy and put a smile upon my face. While simplistic, it gives great vibes and a smile!

Hannah sent “good mood” wishes and let me know that her town has a castle! Bentheim Castle a medieval hill castle, was known in the 11th century as binithem. Built of sandstone on a hill in what appears to be an otherwise flat landscape, the castle allowed for a strategic location for protection of the community. Definitely a place I’d like to visit one day.

Learn more about the castle at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bentheim_Castle

This review was submitted 6 months ago.

On November 11, 2023 a pen pal from The Netherlands sent me the postcard You are a true friend! Postcard with color drawing of a bear in checkered coat with red cuffs shaking the hand of a cat on a dirt trail leading to a castle in the background.

You are a true friend! Postcard with color drawing of a bear in checkered coat with red cuffs shaking the hand of a cat on a dirt trail leading to a castle in the background arrived after 17 days of travel covering a distance of 4,739 miles / 7,627 kilometers. An exciting postcard from my newest pen pal Luus from The Netherlands.

Postcard Front


 

Postcard Stamp(s)


 

What I’ve Learned

Friendships from around the world are amazing! Postcrossing and IG allow me to meet and interact with individuals I would not otherwise have had the opportunity to. During our yet brief friendship I have been able to introduce Luus to Postcrossing and it appears she has become as addicted to it as I have.

Regardless of where one is from, the color of their skin, their religion, financial status, etc., the majority of us all have the same desires in life. To be free. To be respected. To be cared about. To have equal opportunity. To be respected for who we are.

Be kind to one another, we are more ALIKE than we are different.

Cheers to you Luus and our friendship. May it last a lifetime.

This review was submitted 2 years ago.

On January 12, 2022 a Postcrosser from Russia sent me the postcard Let’s unravel the enemy’s plans!.

Let’s unravel the enemy’s plans! arrived after 103 days of travel covering a distance of 5,390 miles / 8,674 kilometers. This military pin-up style of postcard from Russia portrays a female soldier reading a telegraphy with one arm of her glasses in her mouth, while seated on a chair by a desk with a teletype, map, pencil, phone and chocolate bar at her disposal.

Postcard Front


 

Postcard Stamp(s)


 

What I’ve Learned

Pin-up style postcards were popular among many of the countries who fought in World War II and reproductions are big on the market today. I’m just beginning to research more about this style of card and will enjoy learning more about them as time progresses. If you have cards you would like to share that are vintage and not reproduction please let me know. I’m also interested in learning about the history behind these cards (entertainment, propaganda, other.) Also, how about the use of art in the design of these cards?

This review was submitted 3 years ago.

On December 5, 2020 a Postcrosser from United States sent me the postcard A Jumbled Liar Recipe.

A Jumbled Liar Recipe arrived after 5 days of travel covering a distance of 603 miles / 970 kilometers. Time to cook!

Postcard Front


 

Postcard Stamp(s)


 

What I’ve Learned

What I’ve learned from this postcard… that recipes can be used as a postcard. I guess it should have been obvious that this type of card is out there, I’ve just never thought about it. Regardless, I now have my first “Postcrossing recipe” to try out after being a member of Postcrossing for over ten years.

This review was submitted 4 years ago.

On November 30, 2019 a Postcrosser from Bangladesh sent me the postcard The Hanging Bridge of Rangamati.

The Hanging Bridge of Rangamati arrived after 16 days of travel covering a distance of 8,134 miles / 13,090 kilometers. With currently only 48 Postcrossers, the odds of receiving a postcard from Bangladesh are lower than from most other countries.

Postcard Front


 

Postcard Stamp(s)


 

What I’ve Learned

Bangladesh is a country in Asia, population of 161,356,039, and its capital located in Dhaka.

Rangamati’s economy is primarily dependent on agriculture and tourism. It is the administrative headquarters of Rangamati Hill District in the Chittagong Hill Tracts of Bangladesh as well as the capital city of Chittagong Hill Tracts. Rangamati is also called the Lake City of Bangladesh as it is located on the bank of Kaptai Lake, the largest lake in Bangladesh.

The 335′ Hanging Bridge (Jhulonto Bridge) is located on Kaptai Lake and is a primary landmark and tourist attraction of Rangamati. The pedestrian bridge goes under water during the rainy season every year preventing the people who live on Dewanpara Island on Kaptai Lake from accessing the mainland without a boat.

If you have information as to when the bridge was built or any other details please let us know.

This review was submitted 4 years ago.

On November 25, 2019 a pen pal from Russia sent me the postcard the Church of Elijah the Prophet, Yaroslavl, Russia.

the Church of Elijah the Prophet, Yaroslavl, Russia arrived after 24 days of travel covering a distance of 5,392 miles / 8,678 kilometers.

Postcard Front


 

Postcard Stamp(s)


 

What I’ve Learned

Yaroslavl, the administrative center of Yaroslavl Oblast, Russia, is located 160 miles (250 kilometers) northeast of Moscow. With a population of 597,161 (2012) it is situated at the confluence of the Volga and Kotorosl Rivers.

In Yaroslavl’s main square you will find the Church of Elijah the Prophet. Founded by Prince Yaroslav the Wise in honor of his victory over a bear which occurred on the day of this saint. It was built between 1647 and 1650 in traditional 17th century style with the iconostasis walls covered in many 17th century frescoes. While the church is now a museum, services are occasionally held there.

The modern stone church was built by unknown local masters and paid for by the Skripin merchants. By 1778 the church had become the center of the radial-circular planning of the city.

The Yaroslavl historical city center was listed in 2005 as one of 29 UNESCO World Heritage sites in Russia. As of November 27, 2019 there are currently 1,121 World Heritage sites in the world.

error: Content is protected !!